of being a woman vol. 01

anna_big

You Will Hear Thunder

You will hear thunder and remember me,
And think: she wanted storms. The rim
Of the sky will be the colour of hard crimson,
And your heart, as it was then, will be on fire.

That day in Moscow, it will all come true,
when, for the last time, I take my leave,
And hasten to the heights that I have longed for,
Leaving my shadow still to be with you.

 Anna Akhmatova

§

 It occurred to me as I was unloading the dishwasher, flipping fish fingers under the grill, and placating my son with an episode of Thomas the Tank Engine while he beat his tiny toddler fists upon the high chair in a Mariah-sized fit of pique. I’m happy. I enjoy being the boss of this boring scene of domesticity. Forgive me Betty Friedan, but I love being a housewife.

Chitra Ramaswamy, The Guardian

§

At least one in four women in America now takes a psychiatric medication, compared with one in seven men. Women are nearly twice as likely to receive a diagnosis of depression or anxiety disorder than men are. For many women, these drugs greatly improve their lives. But for others they aren’t necessary. The increase in prescriptions for psychiatric medications, often by doctors in other specialties, is creating a new normal, encouraging more women to seek chemical assistance. Whether a woman needs these drugs should be a medical decision, not a response to peer pressure and consumerism.

Julie Holland, The New York Times

§

Mas a opressão ainda mostra um fôlego estarrecedor. Dados da Central de Atendimento à Mulher Ligue 180, do órgão federal Secretaria de Políticas para as Mulheres, alertam que as denúncias de violência sexual no Brasil aumentaram mais de 40% no ano passado em relação a 2013, com o estupro no topo das acusações. E tem mais: em 81% dos casos, os autores das agressões são pessoas próximas da vítima e com algum vínculo afetivo. Sabe aquela história de ninguém meter a colher em briga de marido e mulher? Pois é. E muitas ainda acabam em morte.

Mariana Tramontina, UOL Tab

Os comentários estão desativados.